Control of Horses Act 1996 Draft Bye-Laws 2020

Closed30 Oct, 2020, 09:00 - 15 Dec, 2020, 16:00

Primary tabs

Kilkenny County Council    Control of Horses Act 1996 Draft Bye-Laws 2020 
The County Council of the County of Kilkenny, in exercising the powers conferred on it by Sections 13, 17, 39, 40, 46 and 47 of the Control of Horses Act 1996 (No. 37 of 1996), propose to make Bye-Laws for the Control of Horses in the County of Kilkenny and to make provision for the Control and Welfare and Licensing of horses in the said County.  These Bye-Laws will also incorporate exclusion horse zones within Kilkenny City.
These Bye-Laws once adopted, will replace the Control of Horses Act, 1996 Bye-Laws 2015.
The Draft Bye-Laws are available for public inspection, free of charge, at the following offices, by appointment only between the hours of 9.30am – 1.00pm:
•    Reception Desk, Kilkenny County Council, County Hall, John Street, Kilkenny – 056 7794470
•    Ferrybank Area Office, Shopping Centre, Ferrybank, Co. Kilkenny – 051 831370
•    Callan Area Office, Callan, Co. Kilkenny – 056 7794321
•    Thomastown Area Office, Thomastown, Co. Kilkenny – 056 7793340
•    Castlecomer Area Office, Castlecomer, Co. Kilkenny – 056 7794450

From Friday 30th October, 2020 to Thursday 3rd December, 2020  
Copies of the Draft Bye-Laws are available free of charge from the Environment Section, County Hall, John Street, Kilkenny.  You may also phone 056 7794470 or email to request a copy.
A copy is also available on the Council’s Website – 
Written submissions on the Draft Bye-Laws are invited and should be sent to Environment Section, Kilkenny County Council, County Hall, John Street, Kilkenny, with the envelope marked “Control of Horses Draft Bye-Laws 2020”. Submissions may also be made online on the consultation portal of Kilkenny County Council at The closing date for all submissions is 4.00pm on Tuesday 15th December 2020. Please note that all submissions and comments submitted to Kilkenny County Council are subject to consideration for release under the Freedom of Information Acts 1997, 2003 and 2014.  
Sean McKeown
Director of Services