1.6.5 Regional Spatial and Economic Strategy Southern Region (RSES)

Dúnta22 Nol, 2020, 09:00 - 12 Már, 2021, 17:00
1.6.5 Regional Spatial and Economic Strategy Southern Region (RSES)

The Southern Region represents over 40% of Ireland’s total landmass and one third of the national population. With three of the country’s five cities - Cork, Limerick and Waterford and a network of large towns, the region has a strong urban structure. It remains largely a rural region with contrasting rural landscapes that range from the Atlantic seaboard to rich productive lands and river valleys. It is also divided into three sub-regional areas, called Strategic Planning Areas (SPAs) - the South-West the Mid-West, and the South-East. The South East Planning Area consists of Kilkenny along with Carlow, Tipperary[1], Waterford and Wexford.

The RSES Vision is to:

• Nurture all our places to realise their full potential;

• Protect and enhance our environment;

• Successfully combat climate change;

• Achieve economic prosperity and improved quality of life for all our citizens;

• Accommodate expanded growth and development in suitable locations; and

• Make the Southern Region one of Europe’s most creative, innovative, greenest and liveable regions.


[1] Tipperary straddles both the Mid-West and the South East planning areas.
















Clár ábhair